Cost of CISA Certification in Nigeria (2024)

If you are looking to build a career in Information Systems Audit, then it is essential to equip yourself with relevant certifications. These certifications not only give you a competitive edge in the labor market, it also deepens you knowledge in the field. One of these certifications is Certified Information Systems Auditor certification. This certification is piloted by ISACA and ranks as one of the globally accepted and highly-rated information systems audit certification.

Cost of CISA Certification in Nigeria

With all the buzz about CISA seen to be worth it, this post takes a look at how much the certification goes for in Nigeria today. We will also consider some core facts to note about the certification. Let’s get started.

Cost of CISA Certification in Nigeria

The certified Information Systems Auditor examination is cheaper for ISACA members. To initiate the process, one is required to pay an application fee of $50, which equates to just over N24,000 (with exchange rate of N480 per dollar). Once this stage has been passed, ISACA members can pay $575, which equates to just over N261,600 (with exchange rate of N480 per dollar), while non-ISACA members pay $760, which equates to just over N364,800 (with exchange rate of N480 per dollar).

To register for membership, one is required to pay $175, which equates to just over N84,000 (with exchange rate of N480 per dollar). It should be noted that the estimations as above are gotten using the current CBN currency exchange rate.


What you should know about CISA examination

CISA certification confirms your technical knowledge for information systems auditing, control, security, and governance. It is always essential for candidates to know about the certification and examination before going to write the examination. Unlike before, the CISA examination can now be written anytime during the year. You can check the ISACA website to confirm available dates to sit for the examination.

Usually, the examination is for four hours and candidates are expected to answer a total of 150 multiple choice questions. The exam is totaled at 800 points and candidates are expected to score a minimum of 450 before they can pass the examination.

CISA examination is classified into five modules, with each module offering broad knowledge of IT security and auditing. Let us now take a look at the five modules.

Module 1Auditing Information Systems 

This is the first module. This module focuses on candidate’s knowledge of services in accord with basic IT audit standards. Candidate are tested on their overall knowledge about auditing information systems and the surrounding processes. It focuses on enveloping the skills of the IS auditor in an auditing environment.

Module 2 – Governance and management of Information Technology

This module mainly focuses on testing the candidate’s knowledge of information system controls and how the organization manages security. The module covers major topics including IT Strategy evaluation, IT governance, organizational structures and resource management, portfolio management, risk management, reporting of KPIs, monitoring of controls, and business continuity plan.

Module 3 – IS Acquisition, Development, and Implementation

Module three focuses on some of the very important practices that govern the acquisition, development, testing, and implementation of Information Systems. The module tests the candidate’s understanding of practices around life infrastructure cycle management of the IS controls.

Module 4 – Information System Operations, Maintenance, and Support

The fourth module focuses on provision of assurance that core processes for IS operations support meet the purposes and strategies of the organization. It includes the evaluation of IT management frameworks and practices and confirming that the organization’s practices are in line with best practices. The module also touches on evaluation of alignment of IT operations, maintenance, data quality, database management practices with the business’ objectives.

Module 5 – Protection of Information Assets

Just like the head depicts, the last module focuses on protection of information systems and assets. Here, the candidates are tested on the knowledge of how IS auditors provide assurance that the organization’s standards and procedures safeguard integrity, confidentiality, and availability of information assets. Candidates are tested on evaluation of the IT security and privacy policy, and standards in the organization and guaranteeing the design, implementation, and maintenance of security controls to ensure they are adequate.

How to get your CISA certificate after passing the exam

While passing the CISA examination is a huge step in earning the certification, this is not just enough. To earn the certificate, the candidate is required to fill an application within five years after passing the examination. The application also requires the candidate to forward their experience certificate. Once these are verified by ISACA, then you can proceed to get your certification.

It should be noted that when it comes to training and preparation for the exam, ISACA has a number of options to help yourself for the CISA exam. The candidate can decide to select either the visual instructor-led training mode, online review courses, or even downloadable review manuals, review questions. There are also access to a well-documented answers and explanation database with a 12-month ISACA membership subscription. These materials help candidates prepare well for the examination. There are also several materials online that candidates can use to prepare as well as various organized training programs.

Retaking the exam

Although the examination is not overly difficult, not everyone passes the examination. If one takes the examination and scores less than the desired score of 450, there is no serious need to worry just yet as one can retake the examination by simply reregistering for the exam.

Related posts


Leave a Reply